Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I know so many brides are against the “First Look”.  Many want that moment when they walk down the aisle to be the first time their new husband sees them as their own.  It’s an incredibly special moment, and when many women dream of their wedding day, this moment is at the forefront.

For others, they choose the first look to make that moment more intimate.  You can speak to one another, not have the pressure of 100 pairs of eyes ogling you, and you can be more relaxed in the moment.  I know, as a naturally anxious person, I had to see my husband before the main event.  I knew I would be a wreck, and getting to see his smiling face before we took “the plunge” calmed my nerves.  All my worries fluttered away, along with the butterflies in my tummy.  I knew I was on the right track in life.

Or maybe you just want to get all the pictures out of the way before the ceremony.  Any reason is a good reason to have or not have a first look, but perhaps you can have the best of both worlds.

I love the idea of blindfolding the groom, so he can’t see the bride, but they can talk, touch, and comfort each other before the main event.  This way you can preserve that wow factor of walking down the aisle, while still having an intimate moment before you become man and wife.

Source: Heather Armstrong Photography

Another option I love is the behind the door first look.  Same as the blind fold, but slightly less contact.

Source: Martha Stewart Weddings

Anyway you choose to see your groom for the first time is the right choice.  It’s what makes you feel special and how you imagine your perfect day.  If you have to do a first look for time constraints, make it special.  Only allow you and your photographers there.  Make the moment about the start of your life together, because that’s where step one begins.

